My name is Calum Smith and I am a 17-year-old apprentice working at The Hive Enterprise Centre. I live in Southend -on-Sea and have done all my life. However, my Mother is from Scotland and my Father is from Chesterfield. I have a 19-year-old brother and 2 sisters aged 27 and 31 years old.

I studied at Southend High School for Boys for 5 years to complete my GCSE’s and then went on to college to originally study a 2 year Btec Business course. Due to many reasons the course did not run for a second year; so I decided instead of doing another Btec course or starting my A levels a year late, to look for an Apprenticeship. I originally started looking for Apprenticeships in Marketing as I did not know that there were apprenticeships in Digital Marketing. With guidance from my Mother; I came to a conclusion that Digital Marketing would be more suited to me personally and started to look for Digital Marketing Apprenticeships. That is where I found The Hive Enterprise Centre.

I applied for a Digital Marketing Apprentice because I spend a lot of time on social media in my free time so I have the skills and knowledge to use them in my work. I always enjoyed marketing at school and was very good at business, hence I went to college to study it further. I enjoy marketing because I enjoy using my creative and innovative side to mix with the media in order to market a business and help its growth.

The Hive Enterprise Centre is an amazing business with amazing people. I’ve wanted to start full time work for a long time and it is even better than what I imaged it to be. I love the hours; the responsibilities; the job roles, as well as the benefit of having no homework (that’s always a massive bonus). At the Hive I have recently gained the responsibility of controlling the social media sites as well as writing regular blogs and heading up small events.

 

I spend most of my spare time relaxing on the weekdays and going out with my mates at the weekend, I also spend my time playing football. I’ve played football since I was about 7 years old and, somehow, used to play for Southend United’s academy. I’ve also had the experience of playing a full 11 a side football game at Roots Hall for a cup final (let’s not mention the score in that game though).

I come from a very sporty family with my father who used to play semi-professional football and County Level Cricket along with my Brother who has represented Essex in Cricket and casually won a Gold Medal at the School World Championships in China. Somehow, my Mother used to play netball in Scotland and is an avid runner; running a long long way every other morning. I play football for a men’s team who are 2 leagues systems below semi-professional level and I captain an U18’s side who play in the Premier division of the Southend district league.

2 comments

Leave a comment